Dooley's Books

Author, Tamikio L. Dooley

 

DEDICATION TO THE AUTHOR

Tamikio L. Dooley’s writing journey started in January 2015. 

In September 2016, the author achieved her initial crystal trophy award as the best author in the crime category. Within the same month, she received an honorable recognition as the best author of crime.

In July 2019, Tamikio became a published author with Ukiyoto Publishing House.

Her book The Warhead Hunters became bestselling zombie apocalypse series, featuring on bookstore bookshelves, Barnes & Noble, Amazon Extended Distribution, Ingram, NACSCRP, Express Book Machine, and 40,000 other bookstores and channels. 

 

Author, Tamikio L. Dooley's Favorite Books

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the bestselling author of Before We Were Yours comes a new historical novel: the dramatic story of three young women searching for family amid the destruction of the post–Civil War South, and of a modern-day teacher who learns of their story and its vital connection to her students’ lives.

Bestselling author Lisa Wingate brings to life startling stories from actual “Lost Friends” advertisements that appeared in Southern newspapers after the Civil War, as newly freed slaves desperately searched for loved ones who had been sold away.

Louisiana, 1875: In the tumultuous era of Reconstruction, three young women set off as unwilling companions on a perilous quest: Hannie, a freed slave; Lavinia, the pampered heir to a now destitute plantation; and Juneau Jane, Lavinia’s Creole half sister. Each carries private wounds and powerful secrets as they head for Texas, following roads rife with vigilantes and soldiers still fighting a war lost a decade before. For Lavinia and Juneau Jane, the journey is one of stolen inheritance and financial desperation, but for Hannie, torn from her mother and siblings before slavery’s end, the pilgrimage west reignites an agonizing question: Could her long-lost family still be out there? Beyond the swamps lie the limitless frontiers of Texas and, improbably, hope.

Louisiana, 1987: For first-year teacher Benedetta Silva, a subsidized job at a poor rural school seems like the ticket to canceling her hefty student debt—until she lands in a tiny, out-of-step Mississippi River town. Augustine, Louisiana, is suspicious of new ideas and new people, and Benny can scarcely comprehend the lives of her poverty-stricken students. But amid the gnarled live oaks and run-down plantation homes lie the century-old history of three young women, a long-ago journey, and a hidden book that could change everything.

Read the USA Today bestseller from the author of Roses, a "sumptuous, full-bodied, and emotional" novel about five young spies embedded among the highest Nazi ranks in occupied Paris (Adriana Trigiani, NYT bestselling author of Tony's Wife).

 

At the height of World War II, a handful of idealistic young Americans receive a mysterious letter from the government, asking them if they are willing to fight for their country. The men and women from very different backgrounds -- a Texan athlete with German roots, an upper-crust son of a French mother and a wealthy businessman, a dirt-poor Midwestern fly fisherman, an orphaned fashion designer, and a ravishingly beautiful female fencer -- all answer the call of duty, but each for a secret reason of her or his own. They bond immediately, in a group code-named Dragonfly.
Thus begins a dramatic cat-and-mouse game, as the group seeks to stay under the radar until a fatal misstep leads to the capture and the firing-squad execution of one of their team. But is everything as it seems, or is this one more elaborate act of spycraft?

The USA Today Bestseller

From the bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room comes a mesmerizing tale of historical fiction that asks what kind of woman could have inspired an American dynasty.

Clara Kelley is not who they think she is. She's not the experienced Irish maid who was hired to work in one of Pittsburgh's grandest households. She's a poor farmer's daughter with nowhere to go and nothing in her pockets. But the woman who shares her name has vanished, and assuming her identity just might get Clara some money to send back home.

Clara must rely on resolve as strong as the steel Pittsburgh is becoming famous for and an uncanny understanding of business, attributes that quickly gain her Carnegie's trust. But she still can't let her guard down, not even when Andrew becomes something more than an employer. Revealing her past might ruin her future—and her family's.

With captivating insight and heart, Carnegie's Maid is a book of fascinating 19th century historical fiction. Discover the story of one brilliant woman who may have spurred Andrew Carnegie's transformation from ruthless industrialist to the world's first true philanthropist.

Also by Marie Benedict:
The Other Einstein
The Only Woman in the Room
Lady Clementine

“A compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter.

Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the ongoing bloody struggle between English settlers and native people.

Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, Mary witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her confused surprise, she is drawn to her captors’ open and straightforward way of life, a feeling further complicated by her attraction to a generous, protective English-speaking native known as James Printer. All her life, Mary has been taught to fear God, submit to her husband, and abhor Indians. Now, having lived on the other side of the forest, she begins to question the edicts that have guided her, torn between the life she knew and the wisdom the natives have shown her.

Based on the compelling true narrative of Mary Rowlandson, Flight of the Sparrow is an evocative tale that transports the reader to a little-known time in early America and explores the real meanings of freedom, faith, and acceptance.

Countless perils menaced the early settlers of the Wild West - and not the least of them was the lack of medical care. Dr. Dane Logan, a former street waif who has been adopted by a doctor's family in Cheyenne, puts his lifelong dream to work filling this need. His renown as a surgeon spreads throughout the frontier, even while his love grows for the beautiful Tharyn, an orphan he lost contact with when he left New York City as a child. Will happiness in love ever come to Dane - or will the roving Tag Moran gang bring his hopes to a dark end?

Showdown in Cheyenne

1880. The frontier is uneasy. Tag Moran and his vicious gang are roving the West, robbing banks and stagecoaches. Dr. Dane Logan, a former street waif adopted by a doctor’s family in Cheyenne, is gaining renown for his delicate surgical skill. Dane’s situation becomes precarious when an unfortunate death turns Tag into his bitter enemy. If outlaws come between the tall young surgeon and his childhood love, who’ll be left to see another sunrise?

They say, “I do,” and only death shall part them. Back from their honeymoon, Dr. Dane and Tharyn Logan eagerly assume the reins of the medical practice in a small Colorado mining community. Dane’s selfless heroism quickly earns him a fine reputation among the townsfolk. But the hardship and danger of the West strike home when a band of renegade Utes captures Thayrn’s dear friend Melinda. Will hope survive after Melinda’s friends and fiancé have given her up for dead?

Story Behind the Book

When the challenge of the Western frontier began luring men and women westward from the eastern, northern, southern, and midwestern states in the mid-nineteenth century, they found a land that was beyond what they had imagined. Wherever they settled, from the wide Missouri River to the white-foamed shores of the Pacific Ocean, they clung to the hope of a bright new beginning for their lives. Often their hopes were dashed by fierce opposition from the Indians who had inhabited the land long before them. At times there was also struggle for survival against the hard winters and the loneliness of the vast frontier.

This final book in the Frontier Doctor trilogy continues the story of Dane and Tharyn Logan, husband and wife medical team serving a mining community west of Denver. While caring for the physical ailments of the residents of this frontier town, the Logans also minister to their spiritual needs. And Dane has the joy of leading a Ute Indian chief and his family to faith in Christ. Dane's biggest challenge comes, however, when the stagecoach he's riding crashes down a ravine. Dane survives, but loses his memory. Who is he? Does he have a family somewhere? And will his trust in God help him find his way back home?

Add comment

Comments

Lynn Edgar
5 months ago

You are amazing!

Lynette Reid
5 months ago

Love your work, Tamikio! Keep writing!

Edward Evans
5 months ago

Hey, Tamikio! I'm waiting for your first fantasy book release. Let me know it's available 😊

Tina Barns
5 months ago

This author is terrific! I love her Zombie books!